RSS

Day Ten

10 Apr

I’m halfway done as of yesterday.  Most of the writing I’m finding myself doing is tightening things up– fixing plot holes and trying to restrain my melodramatics.  I’m falling more and more in love with my characters (I’ve always viewed this as a danger sign until now), and one of my main protags became an antagonist because of that.  Still, I’m pleased with my progress and I’m happy about these new developments.

I’m a bit behind where I want to be, but as long as I continue to beat the goal the site lists as minimum per day to make goal, I’m just going to be pleased with that.  I need to remember that although it would make me very proud to finish with a 3k a day average, it is not realistic, and burnout is not an option because it takes a last minute rush to recover from.

I’m very glad I did so many 3k days though– I feel like I can take my time doing the rest of my novel with less stress because of my huge buffer.

Today’s goal: find new ways to stress and strain my main character, discover how to distance him from his love back home, and lure him into my antagonist’s trap– also, set a timer for the amount of time I allow myself to play Minecraft.  For the past two days, a “one hour reward for making good progress” turned into “Oops, it’s three in the morning.”  That is a problem.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 10, 2015 in Announcements

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Day Ten

  1. rogerdcolby

    April 10, 2015 at 13:07

    I played Minecraft with my kids over the wifi in the house. It became a real time-waster for me as a writer. I quit altogether. Good luck with your project!

     
    • The Mood is Write

      April 10, 2015 at 13:09

      Thank you! I don’t think I could quit, though (at least, not yet). Part of my novel was inspired by that darn game, after all! Good on you though– it takes a lot of willpower to put down a game like MC.

       

Leave a Reply

 
