RSS

Narcisism Meets Nerd

02 Jun

Always, that lopsided smile on those thick lips, those lazy, happy eyes, and that mess of hair weakened my knees.  Far from the most masculine man, he was certainly a heart-breaker.  If only he wasn’t my son.

He looked nothing like my husband, but his resemblance to his father was also only faint.  Many people said he looked like me.  I always wondered about that.  Did that make me a narcissist instead of an incestual freak?  Not that it mattered.  Even though I hid how I felt, I was not ashamed.

My phone rang, and I pressed the button below my earlobe. “Yes?  This is Elspet Sanriel.” My voice was so musical.  I wondered if anyone else admired that about me.  I was likely an inspiration for some sweet girl who wanted to become a singer.

“Ellie, I need your help.” It was my sister, Elouise.  She was not as blessed as I was; her chest and hips were like a plank, and her voice had no melody to it.  She was so plain, but the poor creature still smiled, despite her ugliness.

“What do you need?”  I was so generous. “I’ll be happy to help.”

“My husband was just called on for the military draft, and I want to go with him.  Can you watch Sale while we’re gone?  She’s an easy child, and I promise she won’t be any trouble.”

My eyebrows shot up.  Sale… she was a cute little thing and took after her grandparents.  My sister never complained about her, save that Sale was a bit shy.  I thought a few moments before I answered. “Of course I’ll take care of her.  I have an extra room, and plenty of extra budget for the sweet little one.  Bring her over any time after dinner, alright?”

“Oh, thank you, Elspet!” She sounded so relieved– almost ready to cry, in fact. “Oh, I can’t thank you enough!” I could hear her sobs through the phone. “I’ll bring her around seven tomorrow, is that ok?”

“Of course.” I laughed. “That will be wonderful.  Make sure to pack enough of all she needs, and bring a note with anything I should know.”

“Aren’t you going to be there?” Her shock was audible, and again I laughed.

“I am, but you know how my memory is.  I want something I can put on the fridge to remember.”

“Oh.” She was relieved. “Thank you.  I’ll be sure to remember.  Again, thank you so much.”

“It’s not a problem, really.  Also, leave her insurance card, just in case.”

She readily agreed, and we ended the call.  Finally, she was quiet!  Her voice was so plain, it hurt.  As I did so many times before, I wondered how she ever ended up married, and how her husband could possibly be aroused by her, and not by me.  Oh well.  Perhaps ugly people simply couldn’t handle those who were so much more beautiful than they were.

It must just have been the way of things.

Oh well.  I was going to have a guest over soon enough, and still had some fantasies to watch inside my head, so I got to work preparing the guest room for a little girl.  If I recalled correctly, she was all of six years old.  When had her birthday been?  I couldn’t remember, but I was sure the girl couldn’t be too old.  Elouise hadn’t been married for more than ten years, if I recalled properly.

The rest of the day went by quickly, and my son and I spent some quality time together, playing games.  The next day came quickly, and I almost forgot that my niece was coming until the doorbell rang.  The girl, who I assumed was six, was probably closer to sixteen, and resembled her mother far too much.

“Oh.  You’ve grown a lot, Sale.” I forced a smile.  The poor, cursed darling.  She had stopped taking after her grandparents at some point, and began to look like her mother.  I wanted to take the poor thing in for some work, but she wasn’t eighteen yet, so my only option was to buy her a My First Holo choker.  She could become pretty, at least in the face.  Her poor, tiny breasts, and hips and her bad hair were beyond its help.  She also needed a salon appointment.  The current look with teens was baldness– for girls, only.  Boys had to have long hair, it seemed.  What a reverse from just fifty years ago!

Before any of that, though, we needed to be well-rested for the weekend.

“Well, Sale,” I began after her mother left, “We should go to bed early tonight.  We can go to the mall tomorrow, and it’s much less crowded in the mornings.  You want to come along, don’t you?”

Her eyes lit up.  That was a good sign! “Yes, please!  Can we stop by FYI, Auntie?”

“FYI?” I had no idea what that meant. “Sure, I suppose.” I had no idea what it was, so asked. “But, Sale, what kind of store is FYI?”

“Oh, it’s an entertainment store.  It has music, games, movies, and some toys.”

“That sounds like a store for kids, dear.” I gently tried to urge her away from such a thing, but she shook her head.

“Auntie!” She laughed. “No way.  They don’t even have a kids’ section.  It’s for people thirteen and up, mostly.  Video games, not board games.”

I frowned and looked away.  This might be a very long four years, if my instincts were telling me correctly.  I would need to avoid places like that, and try to keep her interested in stores that would help her become better than that.

It was the only way she could become a woman, rather than some weird kid who was into kids’ games and whatever.  Worse, she seemed like she had become a nerd at some point.  How fitting, for her ugly face.  I couldn’t be seen with her.  She needed a makeover… badly.

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
